do two sound studies for NC

From the first (30/4/09) meeting between MB, NC and myself, NC suggested I create 2 sound studies with some specific limitations.

NC emailed me this on 1/5/09 regarding ‘limitations’:
“a few hours per day, creating 15 pieces for the month of April:
http://www.kafkagarden.com/april09/spiel.html
see also Fredrik Olofsson’s April linked from there for one hour a  day live coding for 30 pieces, and previous attempts…”

…which was an interesting read and helped me to make some decisions in my creative process regarding giving over a certain amount of time to sound creation, followed by a certain amount of time for editing etc.
FO gave over 1-2 hours daily to create material, followed by similar time finishing the piece.
FO would also blog about each days work and present examples of the work undertaken.

The following are his aims (the ones in italics appeal to me):
* exploring what kind of results can be achieved under strict time pressure, freeing myself from my obsessive nature of overworking, overanalyzing and overpolishing my work.
* exploring having a more playful and spontaneous approach to creative work, as opposed to the cerebral and overcomplicated methods I usually employ.
* exploring whether or not I can lose myself in the actual act of creating for the sake of the activity itself, instead of being totally result-oriented.
* exploring what difference it makes to work knowing that someone (Fredrik) is constantly monitoring the progress, day by day.
* having fun

I’d say, in response to “exploring what kind of results can be achieved under strict time pressure”, that my version of this would be that I’d work on a sound until I believed it was ‘ready’. I’d search for the right sound, find it and then leave it alone, trying not to over work it – something I have been wary of from art college days…

How about this one: “exploring having a more playful and spontaneous approach to creative work” – I’ve always played and tried my best to be spontaneous, so that covers “having fun” too.

As for “exploring whether or not I can lose myself in the actual act of creating for the sake of the activity itself”…I think one of my aims with making sounds is to try and create some kind of engulfing sound that I can lose myself in, making a sound where the sources become confused so I’m not sure where it has come from, something that then becomes unrepeatable within the process of using older analog synths and something that takes me away from where I am – sitting on the floor trying to get a certain sort of sound from the machine.

Leave a Reply

